Henry Conrad Vanderbeek, the Minister…

31 Jan

Hey…there’s a minister/missionary in my family. Good. I like ministers and missionaries. Here’s the low down…

Henry Conrad Vanderbeek was born to Court Lake Vanderbeek and Mary Jane Vanderbeck on 6 March 1865 (ten months after their marriage) in Bergen County, New Jersey. Henry was the oldest of what appears to be three living children (more on that later).

Here’s an entry about Henry from The Ministerial Directory (1898) by Edgar Sutton Robison III

Screen shot 2013-01-31 at 6.05.42 AM

 

We find that Henry graduated from Williams College with a BA in 1886 and from Union Theological Seminary in New York in 1890. He was licensed as a minister on June 13, 1890 and served in Newark, New Jersey starting in 1890.

Here’s an another entry about Henry from the Catalogue of the Delta Kappa Epsilon Fraternity (1910)

Screen shot 2013-01-31 at 5.55.18 AM

We find from this record that Henry was also an organist and assistant librarian at Williams. Very cool stuff. I went to Union Theological Seminary’s website and found that it was founded in 1836 and is the “oldest independent seminary in the nation”.

in 1895, apparently, Henry travelled abroad. I don’t know the reason, but I have the passport. There is a some interesting info about Henry contained therein, regarding his appearance:

Screen shot 2013-01-31 at 6.28.36 AM

 

He was 5′ 9.5″ (and so am I), with a high forehead, straight nose, brown eyes, brown hair and an oval face. That’s me exactly. Except, he had a dimpled chin and I don’t. Here is his signature:

Screen shot 2013-01-31 at 6.30.48 AM

in 1900 we find Henry living in Newark as a boarder with the Simonson family. He is listed as a minister.

In 1910 we find him listed with his father and step-mother in Tenafly, New Jersey (listed as a son) and listed as a minister. But we also find him on the 1910 Census living in Williamstown, Massachusetts living as a boarder with the Adams family. He is listed as a clergyman. What gives?

Well, the censuses were taken a week apart. There is a chance that he was visiting home during the week and was listed by both families. There is a chance his dad just listed him because he had recently moved. Who knows. Either way, America counted one too many citizens (which through off the entire data set, I’m sure).

In 1920, we find Henry living in Sweetgrass County, Montana, in School District #5 (according to the census). He is listed as a clergyman and “Home Missionary”. I don’t know what that is (I mean, I’m sure I could guess I suppose), but I’d kind of like some info on that in the future.

Screen shot 2013-01-31 at 6.23.31 AM

 

 

I can’t find a death notice or certificate, so I’m searching for that stuff. Until then, I don’t have a concrete death date…

2 Responses to “Henry Conrad Vanderbeek, the Minister…”

  1. LauraBeek February 6, 2013 at 2:41 PM #

    Very cool! Tyler has a dimpled chin and that high forehead too. And did you know he served his mission in Germany, right next to Holland. Everyone thought he was Dutch with a name like Vanderbeek. Feel free to call him and get him engaged in helping to find your shared ancestors.

    • BJM February 6, 2013 at 2:43 PM #

      Oh goodness! I have a baptismal record that maybe Tyler can translate. It isn’t easy to read, but I’m curious about the contents. I’ll send it to him. Thanks Laura!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,311 other followers

