Getting Found…

28 Dec

In the last few weeks this thought has crossed my mind a hundred times: “Jeesh William, you couldn’t write one thing down?!” No journal? No diary? No nothing. Lame. I’d have been happy with some scrawling on a napkin. You know what would be so great? A journal where he explains his marital situations. Diary entries regarding his children. Stuff like that. I wish the same thing about each one of my ancestors. A few of them did write short personal histories, for which I’m thankful. I’ll discuss William’s daughter’s personal history sometime soon.

But alas, I digress…

And as a result, I’m making myself very findable. I keep a journal pretty regularly, and I picture my posterity reading it (whether they want to or not…), so I try to imagine what about this day or incident will they wish I recorded and then I record that thing…

Screen shot 2012-12-25 at 9.28.34 AM

I currently keep my journal on Google Drive so that I have access to it from any computer or my iPad, iPhone, etc. In fact, you’re welcome to read it. Just sign in as “OfCourseNot45@gmail.com” and use the password “thisisalie45”. Ya, that’ll give you complete access to my personal journal. Feel free to edit it and change anything you’d like…

Screen shot 2012-12-25 at 9.34.50 AM

As you can tell, Google Drive also tells you when you’ve misspelled something. I’m glad I saw that after I posted this example…

Here’s another thing I’m doing to really make myself available to my descendants. I am writing a personal history that focuses on my life from birth to age 19. Some years ago my wife gave me a little mini-book that asks a personal history question each day. The book is titled, “Dad, Share Your Life With Me” (by Kathleen Lashier, 2006). I’ve altered some of the questions to fit my life better. The intent was that a person writes right in the little book, but I decided to do a more complete job. I’m typing each question into a Google Drive Document and answering it with as much detail as I can stand. I’m even going back and doing research on some of the questions so that my record is as complete and correct as possible.

Screen shot 2012-12-25 at 9.55.05 AM

I really want my children, grandchildren, and great grandchildren to know me. So, I’m making it as easy as possible to find me. Along with journals and personal histories, I’m gathering/scanning documents that are key to my life. But everyone knows to do that, so I don’t have anything to say about it…

PS…You can still purchase these little mini-books at Amazon, new or used. The used ones go for less than a buck! 

One Response to “Getting Found…”

  1. Ryan Webb December 28, 2012 at 10:06 AM #

    Thanks for this post I have recommitted myself to being a better journal keeper. One thing I have done in the past is write in a journal to each of my children. A few years ago I bought a journal for each of them and have been writing to them about my feelings for them. I have not been consistent in this effort. This post has helped me renew that commitment. Thanks for spending the time.

Leave a Reply

