My Love of Addresses!

30 Dec

I just went and looked at all of the census records I’ve downloaded from Ancestry.com and FamilySearch.org and every one of them, except the really early ones, have addresses (or what look like addresses..some of the handwriting is abysmal, like mine). The early ones don’t. But if I’m looking post-1900, I can see addresses on the left-hand side of each of them…

I posted a little about addresses here.

As I was replying to a comment recently, I listed a few things I do to determine, deduce, or double-check the addresses. Let’s use one of William’s homes to illustrate:

ZOOM IN:

Here is the 1930 US Census with William. Check out the bottom left hand corner for the address running up the side:

Screen shot 2012-12-25 at 7.04.20 PM

You never know what you’ll find. For instance, at first glance, William and his (3rd) wife, Mary, seem to live at either “So. Smedley Str.” or So. Smellyfest” or “So. Smulleyjest”. Hmm. I can’t tell. I know he said his home was worth $36,000. That’s like 400k bones nowadays. But if he lived on Smellyfest or Smulleyjest Street, I will disown him.

So, I’m zooming in (and rotating the picture instead of my head):

SPRUCE

Like an idiot, I left my little cursor-hand-thing in the picture when I did the screen-capture, but you get the idea. Can you see “Spruce” in there, really lightly written? Here, this will make it easier:

SPRUCE Street

“Spruce”? Yes, it looks like they lived on Spruce Street in Philadelphia. Or at least they might have. Better keep looking…

CROSS STREETS:

If I look at the street above William and Mary’s on the census form, I find “South 17th Street”. So I head to Google Maps and look for 17th Street. In fact, I look for 319 South 17th Street because that is the listing right above William. That may have been the house the census person visited right before he or she visited my ancestor. On Google Maps I find the following:

cross streets

You’ll notice that South 17th Street conveniently crosses SPRUCE STREET. And in fact, 319 South 17th Street is pretty close to 1626 Spruce Street.

There is a third thing I could try.

CITY DIRECTORIES:

I searched the City Directory Index for Philadelphia in 1950, and I found Dr. Wm Ziesel at 1626 Spruce…

Screen shot 2012-12-25 at 7.29.35 PM

Awesome. I know that isn’t the only place he lived, and soon I’m going to use the census records mixed with the city directories to track him house to house until he died…I’ve looked at some of the addresses and used the “Street View” on Google Maps to see what the houses look like (if they are still there…).

And then I will trick-or-treat there…maybe.

Leave a Reply

