She travelled where?

9 Jan

I recently found my great-great-grandmother residing at the YMCA in Philadelphia in 1930. She “expired” eight years later, and I’ve been feeling kind of bad that her circumstances weren’t a little better during the last decade of her life. But now I think I’ve found that maybe things were better than I was imagining. I mean, if things were so bad, would she have travelled all over the world in 1924?!

Maybe she would have. I don’t know. Maybe it was cheaper to travel back then. Or maybe I don’t know how money works.

Where did I find the information? Ancestry’s Immigration records! I found a 1924 passport for William’s ex-wife, my g-g-grandma, Marie Elizabeth (Schuck) Ziesel. Here it is:

Screen shot 2012-12-29 at 10.08.43 AM

It is kind of a goldmine of information. For instance:

Screen shot 2012-12-29 at 10.12.54 AM

Her son Edward went with her. And, for some reason there is a marriage date here (June 27, 1889). Now, we have her marriage date (to William) as June 26, but this says June 27. So I’ll have to get to the bottom of that.

Screen shot 2012-12-29 at 10.15.04 AM

We have her birth information here, and William’s birth area, and that in 1924 William was living at 1626 Spruce Street in Philadelphia. That’s nice, because the census records would only show his residence in 1920 and 1930. They were divorced at this point (even though she said she was married on the passport) which explains his residence being different from hers.

Screen shot 2012-12-29 at 10.17.58 AM

See? She is living in Wildwood, New Jersey in 1924. And she is not employed. I’ve heard that William gave her a hotel in Wildwood after the divorce, but I don’t know. Maybe this is how she made her living.

Screen shot 2012-12-29 at 10.19.50 AM

Here we find a list of the possible destinations. I don’t know if she went to all of them. That’s a lot of places to go on a cruise, but it is totally possible. This part of the record also says that they were going for her son’s health. But then it is crossed out and something is written to the right of it (and if you can figure it out, please comment). They were on the S.S. Leviathan (kind of a neat article on the S.S. Leviathan on Wikipedia) and were leaving in May of 1924.

Screen shot 2012-12-29 at 10.28.27 AM

Also, here’s her signature. That’s fun to have.

Screen shot 2012-12-29 at 10.30.19 AM

Lastly, here is what I presume to be a picture of my great-uncle Edward about age 20.

I already have a lot of info on Marie, but if I didn’t, this passport would be so helpful.

I also found the passenger list where Marie and Edward are listed as passengers coming home. If what I’m reading is correct, this trip lasted from May of 1924 to October of 1924. That’s a long trip. And she doesn’t come home on the Leviathan so I’m assuming they stayed in one of the countries they travelled to. Were they visiting family? Were they really at a hospital for Edward’s health? Ahh! What were they doing? I’m nosey enough to have to know!!!

Here’s the passenger list:

Screen shot 2012-12-29 at 10.37.59 AM

The only new information I find here is her residence address, which appears to be 222 East Maple Avenue in Wildwood, New Jersey.

Next, I need to figure out how to use land records to determine stuff. I have no idea how to do that, but when I figure it out, I’ll post about it (I know, exciting…)

Leave a Reply

